Section 4.—Federal and Provincial Commissions

ROYAL COMMISSIONS*

Note.—This list is in continuance of those in previous Year Books beginning with that at at pp. 1108-1110 of the 1940 edition.

Royal Commission appointed to inquire into the claims of persons of Japanese race resident in Canada on July 18, 1947, in regard to property losses under custody of the Crown; constituted by Order in Council of July 18, 1947; Commissioner: Hon. Mr. Justice Henry Irvine Bird.

Royal Commission appointed to inquire into and report upon the revocation of naturalization or Canadian citizenship certificates; constituted by Order in Council of Sept. 11, 1947; Chairman: His Honour Judge René A. Danis; Commissioners: Aldous Aylen, K.C., Lee A. Kelley, K.C., John Forbes MacNeil, K.C., and Charles Arthur Krug.

Royal Commission appointed to inquire into the situation created by the floods in the Lower Fraser Valley, the extent of damage and the measures for relief and rehabilitation; constituted by Order in Council of June 10, 1948; Commissioners: Major-General B. M. Hoffmeister and Hon. Eric W. Hamber.

Royal Commission appointed to examine and report on the increases in the cost of living, specific price levels and the causes that have brought these about; constituted by Order in Council of July 8, 1948; Commissioners: Professor C. A. Curtis, H. C. Bois and Mrs. T. W. Sutherland.

Royal Commission appointed for the purpose of holding inquiries under Section 21 of the Canadian Citizenship Act; constituted by Order in Council of Dec. 17, 1948; Presiding Officer: His Honour Judge René A. Danis; Commissioners: Aldous Aylen, K.C., Lee A. Kelley, K.C., John Forbes MacNeil, K.C., and Robert Alexander Hoey.

Royal Commission appointed to inquire into and report upon the railway freight rates in Canada; constituted by Order in Council of Dec. 29, 1948; Chairman: Hon. W. F. A. Turgeon; Commissioners: Professor Henry Forbes Angus and Professor Harold Adams Innis.

Royal Commission on the national development in the arts, letters and sciences; constituted by Order in Council of Apr. 8, 1949; Chairman: Right Hon. Vincent Massey; Commissioners: Arthur Surveyer, Norman A. M. MacKenzie, Georges-Henri Levesque, Hilda Neatby.

PROVINCIAL ROYAL COMMISSIONS

Note.—Where Royal Commissions have not been established since the 1947 Year Book was published no reference appears below. This list is in continuance of that given at pp. 1222 and 1223 of the 1948-49 Year Book.

Newfoundland.—Royal Commission to inquire into the cost of living; Chairman: Frank S. Grisdale; Commissioners; Lewis Avres and Cyril James; Nov. 29, 1949.

Ontario.—Royal Commission to inquire into and report upon and to make recommendations regarding the Workmen's Compensation Act upon subjects other than detail administration; Commissioner: The Honourable Wilfred Daniel Roach; Oct. 6, 1949.

Manitoba. — Royal Commission on Manitoba water power; constituted June 28, 1947; first Member of the Commission, Dr. Thos. H. Hogg; report published Mar. 24, 1948.

Royal Commission on hospital operating costs; constituted Oct. 28, 1947; Chairman: Hon. Ewan A. McPherson; report not yet published.

^{*} Commissions constituted under Part I of the Federal Inquiries Act.